My Washtub Bass site

a weblog about my instruments and experiments

Kaufman Bros washtub bass

Posted by rockmumbles on August 28, 2006

Kaufman Bros upright 2-stringerThis all started when I was up at Kelly’s store one day and Joe came in and we started to talk… He asked me if I wanted to borrow the washtub bass he had built for his brother. So off we went to his parent’s place and he showed me the bass he had made it and given to his brother as a gift.

This article will attempt to document some of the things I’ve done and learned.

Even though a washtub is a “quite normal” body for a home-made bass, the engineering design of a washtub leaves a little to be desired as far as the “tonewood(s)” involved…

Click here for the full article.

Leave a Reply

 
